MINUTES COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES FACULTY ASSEMBLY Aug. 18, 2015

9:00 a.m. Kinard Auditorium

I. Approval of Minutes:

Dr. Michael Lipsomb called the meeting to order and introduced the new secretary, Dr. Guy Reel, and the parliamentarian, Dr. Duane Neff. The following corrections were made to the minutes: Dr. Dwight Dimaculangan is no longer Director of Undergraduate Research and Dr. Robin Lammi is the current Director of Undergraduate Research; Dr. Neff is an assistant professor of social work, not sociology. The minutes of the March 27, 2015, were approved with those corrections.

II. Curriculum Committee Report:

Dr. Dave Pretty, Chair of the Curriculum Committee, presented two course changes that were reviewed and approved:

- i. *Drop course*: PHIL 565, Environmental Ethics
- ii. Add course: PHIL 340, Environmental Ethics

Dr. Pretty noted the dates of the Curriculum Committee meetings, as provided on the agenda: Aug. 25, Oct. 13, Dec. 8., Jan. 12, March 8, and April 26, and noted that agenda items for these meetings are due a week before the meeting.

The Curriculum Committee had approved the following blanket petitions. No action was required:

- a. For the BA in English with CSST, allow different courses in the Professional Education Sequence to reflect changes in course numberings and offerings, for catalog years 2013-14, 2014-15, and 2015-16.
- b. <u>For the BA in English with CSST</u>, allow different courses in the Professional Education Sequence to reflect changes in course numberings and offerings, for catalog years 2012-13.
- c. <u>For the BA in History with CSST</u>, allow different courses in the Professional Education Sequence to reflect changes in course numberings and offerings, for catalog years 2013-14 and 2014-15.
- d. For the Gerontology minor, allow students in all catalogs to use the requirements in the 2014-15 catalog, including the reduced number of hours.

- e. <u>For the BA in Social Studies with CSST</u>, allow different courses in the Professional Education Sequence to reflect changes in course numberings and offerings, for catalog years 2013-14 and 2014-15.
- f. For the BA in Environmental Studies and BS in Environmental Science, allow students in all catalogs to count ANTH 350, ECON 350, GEOG 302, HIST/PEAC 502, PLSC 321, SUST 102, SUST 300, and SUBU 330 as Environmental Humanities and Social Sciences.
- g. For the BA in Environmental Studies and BS in Environmental Science, allow students in all catalogs to count ENVS 490 in place of ENVS 520.
- h. For the BA in Environmental Studies and BS in Environmental Science, allow students in all catalogs to count ENVS 350 in place of ENVS 510.
- For the BS in Environmental Science, allow students in all catalogs to count any course numbered above 199 with the following designators to fulfill the 8-13 credit hour science and math electives within the major: BIOL, CHEM, GEOL, MATH, NUTR, PHYS, and SCIE. At least two designators must still be included.
- j. <u>For the BA in Environmental Studies</u>, allow students in all catalogs to count any courses with the following designators to fulfill the 3-4 credit science elective within the major: BIOL, CHEM, GEOL, NUTR, PHYS, and SCIE.

Twenty student petitions were approved by the Curriculum Committee, and one was denied.

III. Announcements

a. Dean Karen Kedrowski recognized tenured/promoted faculty to stand:

Tenured/promoted faculty

Beth Costner, promoted to Professor
Casey Cothran, tenured and promoted to Associate Professor
Maria Gelabert, tenured and promoted to Professor
Nick Grossoehme, promoted to Associate Professor
Kunsiri Grubbs, tenured and promoted to Associate Professor
Aaron Hartel, promoted to Professor
Michael Lipscomb, promoted to Professor
Julian Smith, promoted to Professor
Virginia Williams, promoted to Professor

Dr. Kedrowski also recognized new roles in the college:

Greg Oakes, Assistant Dean Robert Prickett, Associate Dean Casey Cothran, Acting Chair of English Wanda Koszewski, Chair of Human Nutrition Peter Judge, Interim Chair of Mass Communication

Department representatives/chairs introduced some new adjunct faculty. New adjunct faculty include:

Giancarlo Anselmo (PSYC) Marjory Brifil (SCWK) Alicia Dervin (ENGL) Jessica Harmon (ENGL) Jeannine Hogue (ENGL) Craig McBride (MATH) Amy Rebecca (ENGL) Joyce Turner (ENGL)

The following new tenure-track faculty were introduced:

Cynthia Tant (BIOL) Kori Bloomquist (SCWK) Margaret Gillikin (IDST) Sabrina Habib (MCOM) Arran Hamm (MATH) Wanda Koszewski (NUTR)

Dr. Jonathan Marx noted that Dr. Jeannie Haubert will be the new chair of sociology and anthropology.

Dr. Kedrowski announced that Claire Weikle will help the college with special event coordination.

- b. Dr. Lipsomb and Dean Kedrowski recognized two award-winners: Dr. Wendy Sellers was named Outstanding Advisor; Dr. Merry Sleigh received the Undergraduate Research Mentor Award.
- c. Dr. Amy Gerald, the Graduate Faculty Committee chair, announced that the first Graduate Faculty Committee meeting will be Sept. 4 and she encouraged faculty to join the Graduate Faculty Committee. The form is available here. Dr. Lipsomb encouraged "re-upping" one's graduate faculty status.
- d. Dr. Lipsomb asked that any program seeking curriculum changes at the graduate level send a representative to the Graduate Council meeting where the action is to be acted upon. This is "strongly recommended" but such attendance is not required. The reason for this is that in some instances language has been unclear and action had to be delayed.

e. Dr. Lipsomb said the college is instituting the ability to use online voting for curriculum action. This option may not be used very often but is there if needed. He also said GFA meetings at the university level will be held on Fridays at 1 p.m., with the first meeting on Sept. 18.

f. Christina Stiles, the CAS technology and data management coordinator, demonstrated the Faculty Handbook webpage. It may be accessed through the CAS webpage under the "Handbooks" link. It contains valuable information for faculty and adjuncts. Suggestions for additions are welcome.

IV. Dean's Remarks

Dr. Kedrowski thanked Dr. Beth Costner and the group that worked with her on the handbook page. The page is useful as a starting point, she said. She welcomed new faces and familiar faces. She said the enrollment numbers for this year leave her "cautiously optimistic." She noted that her remarks would be short because the day is set aside for departmental retreats. She said in later remarks she will discuss the context and roles of liberal arts in the larger education community. She said she hopes she will shed light on the future of the university and liberal arts. In many respects, she said, Winthrop is better off than many other universities. She noted that the three alumni featured in President Mahony's opening remarks are all CAS graduates. She said some money is available for travel and encouraged faculty to submit travel requests by the deadlines in the travel document on the handbook page.

Final announcements: Dr. John Byrd said the Faculty Conference needs a secretary. The first FC meeting is Aug. 21 at 2 p.m. Dr. Leslie Bickford asked faculty to encourage student applications for awards through the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards. Faculty were reminded to enter interim grades.

The next meeting is set for Sept. 4.

Adjournment 9:44 a.m.