COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES FACULTY ASSEMBLY MINUTES August 16, 2016

2:00PM Kinard Auditorium

The meeting was called to order by Wendy Sellers. She thanked Aimee Meader for serving as the new secretary for the faculty assembly and the new parliamentarian Arran Hamm.

- **I.** The minutes were approved unanimously from March 25, 2016 at 2:02PM.
- II. Dean Karen Kedrowski turned the floor over to department chairs to announce new faculty and new roles

Tenured/promoted faculty

Kristen Abernathy, promoted to Associate Professor Catherine Chang, tenured Cheryl Fortner-Wood, promoted to Professor Nick Grossoehme, tenured James Hanna, promoted to Professor Kristin Kiblinger, promoted to Professor Eddie Lee, promoted to Professor Clara Paulino, tenured Guy Reel, promoted to Professor

New tenure-track faculty

Diana Boyer (GEOL)
Duha Hamed (MATH)
Anna Igou (FREN)
Devon Ralston (ENGL)
Lauren Sastre (NUTR)
Kalfani Ture (SOCL)

New full-time faculty

Kara Beasley (ENGL) Victoria Frost (BIOL) Courtney Guenther (BIOL) ZaDonna Slay (SCWK) Jill Stout (ENGL) Leslie Thompson (NUTR)

New roles in the college

Guy Reel, Chair of Mass Communication Kelly Richardson, Director of Composition Carlton Bessinger, Graduate Chair of Human Nutrition Nathaniel Frederick, Director African America Studies Maria Aysa Lastra, Assessment Coordinator of Sociology and Anthropology

Bonnye Stuart, Coordinator of Speech in Mass Communication

ZaDonna Slay, MSW Admissions Coordinator

Monique Constance-Huggins, Undergraduate Program Director

Siobhan Brownson, MLA Program Director

Andrew Vorder-Bruegge, CBLN director (interim)

David Meeler, Dalton Endowed Chair Environmental Sciences and Studies

New adjunct faculty

Lauren Carrier (BIOL)

Carol Dawkins (ENGL)

Kimberly Farrier (ENGL)

Stephanie Herring (MATH)

Richard Jackson (BIOL)

Lindsey Kim (ENGL)

Christi Manley (ENGL)

Kalauren McMillan (ENGL)

Judith Mobley (ENGL)

Lane Rhodes (ENGL)

Athena Shepard (BIOL)

Dana Verdino (ENGL)

Susan Wasco (MATH)

Richard West (MATH)

Jeremy Winkler (PLSC)

Dave Friedman (MCOM)

III. Dean Karen Kedrowski recognized the 2015-16 faculty award winners

- i. Advisor Award: Dr. Guy Reel
- ii. Undergraduate Research Mentor Award: Dr. Nick Grossoehme
- iii. Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award: Ms. Kara Beasley
- iv. Outstanding Instructor Award: Mr. Brian McFadden
- v. Scholarship Excellence Award: Dr. Padmini Patwardhan

IV. General announcements from the floor

The application and criteria for graduate faculty status is now available on the graduate website <u>here</u>.

Speech classes will now be part of the Department of Communication.

A new minor is now offered in community based learning.

Modern Languages Education is now offering American Sign Language (MLAN 107X) with an enrollment of 20 students.

V. There were no Dean's Remarks

VI.	Adjournment at 2:40PM