COLLEGE OF ARTS AND SCIENCES FACULTY ASSEMBLY & GRADUATE FACULTY COMMITTEE AGENDA August 14, 2018

9:00 a	a.m.	Richardson B
I.	Welcome and introduction of Faculty Assembly officers	Dave Pretty
II.	Approval of minutes from March 02, 2018	
	a. <u>See appendix 1</u>	Dave Pretty
III.	Announcements	
	a. Welcome and announcements from the dean's office	Adrienne McCormick
	b. Introduction of new faculty and new roles	Adrienne McCormick
	i. <u>See appendix 2</u>	
	c. Recognition of 2017-18 faculty award winners	Adrienne McCormick
	i. Lynn Harand Outstanding Advisor Award: Dr. Margaret Gill	likin
	ii. Undergraduate Research Mentor Award: Dr. Dustin Hoffma	n
	iii. Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Award: Ms. Laure Mauffray	
	iv. Scholarship Excellence Award: Dr. Siobhan Brownson	
IV.	CAS Committees	
	a. Graduate Faculty Committee	Wendy Sellers
	i. Introduction of officers	•
	ii. Applying for graduate faculty status (application form is	available <u>here</u> *)
	<i>iii.</i> Note: Minutes from the March 2, 2018 GFC meeting wil approval at the full GFC meeting on August 31.	l be on the agenda for

V. CAS advancing the Winthrop Plan: A goal-setting exercise Adrienne McCormick a. See <u>www.winthrop.edu/plan</u> for a summary of the Winthrop Plan

VI. Adjournment

Note: Quorum (35% of full-time faculty) is 51 faculty members for Faculty Assembly. The minimum attendance to do business (20% of full-time faculty) is 29 faculty members.

Quorum (35% of graduate faculty) is 22 faculty members for Graduate Faculty Committee. The minimum attendance to do business (20% of graduate faculty) is 13 faculty members.

Faculty Assembly/Graduate Faculty Committee meeting dates 2018-19

August 14, 2018 – 9:00am	·	January 11, 2019 – 2:00pm
August 31, 2018 – 2:00pm		March 1, 2019 – 2:00pm
October 19, 2018 – 2:00pm		

*https://www.winthrop.edu/uploadedFiles/graduateschool/applicationforms/GFA-APPLICATION.PDF

Appendix 1

COLLEGE OF ARTS & SCIENCES FACULTY ASSEMBLY AGENDA March 2, 2018

Kinard Auditorium

VII. Approval of minutes from January 12, 2018 Ginger Williams i. Unanimous approval

VIII. Report from CAS Committees

- - i. Unanimous approval of proposed changes
- b. Nominating & Rules Committee Dustin Hoffman
 i. Elections for 2018-19 faculty governance positions (Voting will be done electronically via a Qualtrics survey. The survey link will be sent to your Winthrop email account by 5pm on Friday, March 2, and the survey will close at 5pm on Monday, March 5.)

IX. Old Business- none initiated

X. New Business

a. Academic Freedom & Tenure Committee update Ginger Williams *Faculty were reminded of upcoming town hall meetings to hear and provide feedback.*

 Plans to bring on the position of an ombud to handle conflict and provide a confidential space for discussions was presented. The position is in place in 200+ other academic institutions across the US to provide an informal, confidential space for discussion (not advocacy). The ombud would serve faculty and staff. No concerns were voiced regarding the development of this position.

XI. Announcements

Tina Vires announced a new monthly award the "Accessibility Advocate" which was awarded to Gregory Oakes. He was provided a statue of Batman to keep for one month. Wanda Koszewski reminded faculty of March as National Nutrition Month.

Dean Sumter congratulated CAS faculty on ninety-eight percent of interim grades were submitted by CAS faculty before the deadline. Dean's candidate survey is open and faculty were encouraged to provide feedback. An anonymous donor has provided support for a CAS enrichment fund and challenged matching donations. Melissa Reeves was chosen as the keynote speaker by the governor to address safety in schools. Several faculty members have been awarded grants, e.g. Karen Kedrowski, Matthew Stern, and Hye-Sung Kim.

2:00 p.m.

XIII. Adjournment 2:45pm

Note: Quorum (35% of full-time faculty) is 50 faculty members. The minimum attendance to do business (20% of full-time faculty) is 28 faculty members.

Appendix 2

New Full-time Faculty and New Roles, August 2018

Biology:

Meir Barak: promoted to Associate Eric Birgbauer: tenured Salvatore Blair: new Assistant Professor

Chemistry, Physics, & Geology:

Holly Truluck: new Instructor/Lab Chemist

English:

Leslie Bickford: promoted to Associate Chen Chen: new Assistant Professor Casey Cothran: new Department Chair Amanda Hiner: tenured Dustin Hoffman: promoted to Associate Devon Ralston: Writing Center director Kelly Richardson: promoted to Professor

History:

Jennifer Dixon-McKnight: new Assistant Professor

Interdisciplinary Studies: *N/A*

Human Nutrition:

Karin Evans: new Instructor Hope Lima: new Assistant Professor Josh McDonald: new Assistant Professor

Mass Communication:

Joseph Kasko: new Assistant Professor Bill Schulte: tenured; promoted to Associate Emmanuel Nwachukwu: new Assistant Professor

Mathematics:

Zach Abernathy: promoted to Associate Stephanie Herring: new Instructor Jane Wilkes: new Instructor

Philosophy & Religious Studies: Greg Oakes: promoted to Professor

Political Science: *N/A*

Psychology:

Tara Collins: tenured; promoted to Associate Kathy Lyon: promoted to Professor Sarah Reiland: tenured; promoted to Associate

Social Work:

Anthony Hill: new chair/Associate Professor Sarah Hopkins: new Instructor Joshua Kirven: new Associate Professor Chris Ward: Online MSW Program Coordinator

Sociology, Criminology, & Anthropology

Maria Aysa-Lastra: tenured Ty Miller: new Assistant Professor Brent Woodfill: new Assistant Professor

World Languages & Cultures: N/A