

Department of Chemistry, Physics and Geology Student Research Accomplishments (2016-2017)

Peer-Reviewed Publications (*Undergraduate student co-author)

Bennett, B. L.*; Wyatt, E. C.*; Harris, C. T. Fabrication of Thickness-Controlled Hematite Thin Films via Electrophoretic Deposition and Subsequent Heat Treatment of Pyridine-Capped Maghemite Nanoparticles Industrial & Engineering Chemistry Research 2016, 55(44), 11583-11588.

Student Presentations at National Conferences (*Undergraduate student co-author)

- Corley, M.*; Lu, X.; Cao, X.; Zhang, K. Reducing immune response of nucleic acids by brush polymer assisted compaction, 253rd National Meeting of the American Chemical Society, San Francisco, CA, 2017.
- Margin, K.*; Quay, J.*; Minsavage, G.; Jones, J.; Hurlbert, J. C. Expression and Purification of a Novel Calcium Binding Protein Necessary for Phytopathogenesis in Xanthomonas strains. 2017 Annual Meeting of the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chicago, IL, April 23, 2017.
- Nemeth, A.*; Grattan, T. C.; Hurlbert, J. C. Synthesis of Sphingosine Kinase 1 Inhibitors with Modifications of Zone 2, Annual Meeting of the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chicago, IL, 2017.
- Park, J.*; Glasgow, E.; Fox, B. Functional characterization of three GH10 xylanases, Annual Meeting of the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chicago, IL, 2017.
- Tesney, J.*; Singh, G.; Guibao, C.; Moldoveanu, T. Probing the Activation Mechanism of BCL-2 Antagonist Killer Protein in Mitochondrial Apoptosis, Annual Meeting of the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Chicago, IL, 2017.

Student Presentations at Regional Conferences (*Undergraduate student co-author)

- Cridland, C.*; Hurlbert, J. C.; Grattan, T. C Synthesis of novel inhibitors of human sphingosine kinase 1 and investigation of their efficacy as antimicrobial agents, 68th Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Columbia, SC, 2016.
- Hernandez, B. P.*; Roberts, J.A.*; Hanna, J. M. Jr.; Lammi, R. K. Synthesis of small molecules for inhibiting aggregation of Alzheimer's amyloid-β peptide, 68th Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Columbia, SC, 2016.
- Grattan, T. C.; Nemeth, A.* Synthesis of sphingosine kinase inhibitor 1 with modifications of zone 2, 68th Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Columbia, SC, 2016.
- Jordan, C. J.*; Hanna, J. M. Visible light-promoted addition of potassium organotrifluoroborates to imines, 68th Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Columbia, SC, 2016.
- Plasko, D. P.*; Hanna, J. M. Visible light-promoted additions of potassium organotrifluoroborates to carbonyl compounds, 68th Southeastern Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Columbia, SC, 2016.
- Hurtt, M. J.*; Schreiber, W. J.*; Hanna, J. M. Jr.; Lammi, R. K. Evaluation of Biphenyltetrols as Aggregation Inhibitors for Alzheimer's Amyloid-β Peptide, 68th Southeast Regional Meeting of the American Chemical Society, Columbia, SC, 2016.
- Plasko, D. P.*; Jordan, C. J.*; Hanna, J. M. Jr. Visible Light Promoted Additions of Potassium Organotrifluoroborates to C=X Bonds (X = O, NR), NC Photochem, Raleigh, NC, 2016.
- Plasko, D. P.* Visible-Light Promoted Reactions of Potassium Organotrifluoroborates to Carbonyl and Imine Compounds, Gulf Coast Undergraduate Research Symposium, Houston, TX, 2016.

External Summer 2017 Research Fellowships

Madeline Diaz
 Dakota Hawkins
 Make Forest University
 Matthew Hurtt
 Wake Forest University

Ansley Nemeth University of Notre Dame

Jesslyn Park Howard Hughes Medical Institute – University of California, Berkeley

Jason Peck Brookhaven National Lab

Lucia Rodriguez University of Maryland, Baltimore Campus

Sophia Warren Charles H. Townes Optical Science and Engineering Program – Clemson University

Students Matriculating into Graduate Programs

Sommer Barber (2017) Medical University of South Carolina School of Pharmacy Michelle Corley (2017) University of Notre Dame Department of Chemistry Caitlin Cridland (2017) Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Department of Biochemistry Justin Hutchinson (2017) University of South Carolina School of Medicine Theresa Melendez (2017) School of Pharmacy University of Georgia Dakoda Mullinax (2017) Auburn University Brewing Science

Davis Plasko (2017) University of Houston

Rachel Taylor (2017) Marshall University

Jessica Tesney (2017) University of South Carolina, Greenville

Melanie Washington (2017) Towson University

Emily Watson (2017) University of Delaware School of Marine Science and Policy

Winthrop Summer 2017 Research Fellowships

Sara Manore Dr. Grattan Hunter Sellers Dr. Grossoehme Brittney Ciesa Dr. Hanna Eulillian McFadden Brandy Crenshaw Dr. Grattan Maryssa Shanteau-Jackson Dr. Lammi Dr. Sumter Cale Gaster Dr. Harris Caylie McGlade Dr. Hartel Dr. Hurlbert Mallory Sorenson Drs. Hanna & Lammi Tanisha Moore Dr. Sumter Timothy Swartz Benjamin Hernandez Dr. Boyer McKenzie Kargel Dr. Werts Mouskudah Murray Drs. Hanna & Lammi Jaime Taylor Dr. Werts J. Tyler Robbins Carra Lyons Dr. Boyer Augustine Vinson Drs. Hanna & Lammi Dr. Grossoehme

Student Awards and Recognitions

ACS Carolina Piedmont Section – Outstanding Leadership
ACS Organic Division – Winthrop Undergraduate Award
Davis Plasko
ACS Analytical Division – Winthrop Undergraduate Award
Emily Watson
GCUR Symposium – Award for Outstanding Presentation
Davis Plasko
Inez Bell Caskey Student-Scholar Award
Davis Plasko
Lennart H. Kullberg Research Award
Emily Watson

Department of Chemistry

Forensic Science Center

School of Medicine

Forensic Science