

Department of Music College of Visual and Performing Arts

Music Department Committees FY24

Curriculum Committee

This committee is responsible for overseeing the development and maintenance of the department curriculum, including proposals for new courses and programs and modifications to existing courses and programs. The committee shall consist of three (3) faculty members elected by the full-time faculty. Members may also be appointed by the chair when unexpected vacancies arise. Term of office will be three years and terms will be staggered.

NAME	TERM	TERM ENDS
Julia McCallum	3 years	Spring 2026
lan Pearson	2 years	Spring 2025
Matt Manwarren	1 year	Spring 2024

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

This committee was created by the CVPA in response to the events of the summer of 2020. Membership should include one student (preferably a student of color) and three (3) elected faculty members elected by the full-time faculty. Members may also be appointed by the chair when unexpected vacancies arise. Term of office will be three years and terms will be staggered. One faculty member of the committee will also serve on the CVPA Diversity, Equity, and Social Justice Council.

NAME	TERM	TERM ENDS
Ron Parks	3 years	Spring 2026
L. H. Dickert	2 years	Spring 2025
Tomoko Deguchi	1 year	Spring 2024

Recruiting Committee

This committee leads, coordinates, and engages in recruitment events including CVPA Open Houses, scholarship audition days, and community outreach. The committee develops strategies in collaboration with CVPA Admissions Liaison Paula Garofalo and CVPA Marketing and Community Engagement Director Lauren Grad, as well as the Department Chair and Administrative Assistant. The committee may also partner with department student organizations like Sigma Alpha lota, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia, Delta Omicron, and NafME to staff and/or assist with special outreach events. The committee shall consist of three (3) faculty members elected by the full-time faculty. Members may also be appointed by the chair when unexpected vacancies arise. Term of office will be three years and terms will be staggered.

NAME	TERM	TERM ENDS
Jeremy Mims	3 years	Spring 2026
Jeff McEvoy	2 years	Spring 2025
Justin Isenhour	1 year	Spring 2024

Music Education Committee

- Reviews curricula in the B.M.E., M.A.T., and M.M.E. degree programs regularly to determine adherence to NASM, NCATE, and SACS standards.
- Makes recommendations concerning curricular changes for these degree programs to the Curriculum Committee and to the Chair.
- Maintains contact with appropriate offices in the College of Education in all areas that concern music education majors, including Internship assignments, schedules for the Praxis CORE and Praxis II exams, admission to Teacher Education Program, Committee service on Field Experience and Clinical Practice, and the Education Preparation Program.
- Administers the Music Education Sophomore Review, and the Dispositions Program of the College of Education.
- Data gathering for program assessment, retention, and growth and graduate employment and job retention.

NAME	TERM
Lorrie Crochet	ongoing
Julia McCallum	ongoing
Jeremy Mims	ongoing

Music Department Faculty

Membership includes <u>all full-time faculty and the chair</u>. Ranks include full-time instructors (non-tenure-track), Visiting Professors (non-tenure-track), Assistant Professors (tenure-track), Associate Professors (tenured), and Professors (tenured). This is the primary legislative body of the department, which approves all other committee recommendations. This committee meets at least once a month. Staff and adjunct faculty are invited to many department meetings, but they do not vote on department business. The department chair is ex-officio and also does not vote.

Scholarship Committee

Applied area coordinators, program coordinators, and large ensemble directors advise the chair on potential candidates for scholarships based on audition results, student merit, and department needs. Music Department Faculty (full-time) will vote to determine recipients of selected foundation scholarship awards throughout the academic year.