Faculty Conference Minutes Recital Hall August 18, 2000

## I. Approval of Minutes

The minutes to the Faculty Conference of April 21, 2000 were approved.

## II. Opening Remarks - Dr. Thomas Moore, Chair of Faculty Conference

Drs. Jo Tarvers and Michele Henderson were thanked for serving as last year's parliamentarian and secretary, respectively. Both have agreed to serve again this year. Although Dr. Moore was out of town during the June 9<sup>th</sup> Board of Trustees' meeting, he did participate in President DiGiorgio's evaluation. Dr. Janice Chism represented the faculty at the board meeting.

Dr. Moore announced the Board's actions. President DiGiorgio is now in his first year of a three-year contract. Recently retired faculty members were awarded emeritus status. The Board approved a 3.3% tuition and room and board increase. Mr. Skip Tuttle was elected Board Chair. The other elected officers are Mr. Bob Gahagan as Vice-Chair and Ms. Anne Hall as Secretary. The committee chairs appointed by the Chair of the Board are: Mr. Bob Thompson, Academic Affairs; Ms. Jane Shuler, University Relations; and Mr. Bob Gahagan, Finance.

## III. Report from the President's Report - Dr. Anthony J. DiGiorgio

During the summer, \$700,000 was spent on renovating Thompson Hall. Other residence halls were painted and recarpeted. The academic buildings are in good shape. In addition to replacing 252 computers and some furniture in the university computer labs, the labs were recarpeted and painted. The Sims Building renovation work is going well. Even though some parking was eliminated as a result of the Sims' renovation, the number of parking places exceeds the number of issued parking permits. Faculty, staff, and students may have walk further to their cars than in the past. To help alleviate the parking problem, a student overflow lot on Waters Street has been added and parking enforcement efforts increased. Fines have increased to \$20 and cars, are towed after three violations.

The University's Vision of Distinction and the colleges' goals will be distributed by campus mail. Faculty are encouraged to read all documents. The President's opening address is posted on the web site. Upcoming events include Tuesday's convocation at 4pm. Approximately 930 entering freshmen will be inducted. The number of transfers has increased over last year. Graduate enrollment is also up for the University and for the College of Business. The graduate tuition proviso is now permanent. The number of students living in the residence halls has also increased. The faculty and staff welcome back party is at 7 o'clock on September 25<sup>th</sup>. This year's theme is the Double Happiness.

## IV. Report from the V.P. for Academic Affairs - Dr. Melford Wilson

Dr Wilson introduced the two new deans. The College of Visual and Performing Arts' new dean is Dr. Andrew Svedlow, the former president of The New Hampshire Institute of Art. Dr. Pat Graham is the first dean of the Richard W. Riley College of Education

The new faculty members are:

College of Performing Arts New Faculty - Introduced by Dean Svedlow

-Ms. Laura Caldwell, Art and Design

-Ms. Diane McGhee, Dance

Richard W. Riley College of Education – Introduced by Dean Graham

New Faculty

-Ms. Barbara Blackburn, Curriculum and Instruction

-Dr. Mel Horton, Physical Education

-Ms. Danny Kasparek, Physical Education

-Ms. Traci Statler, Physical Education

-Dr. Susan Green, Center for Pedagogy

-Dr. Frances Rhoney, Pedagogy

-Ms. Susan Okey, Teacher in Residence

1 of 3 10/6/2009 6:03 PM

- -Ms. Elaine Young, Teacher in Residence
- -Ms. Phaedra Nunley, MacFeat Laboratory School teacher
- -Ms. Christine Robbins, MacFeat Laboratory School teacher

### Administration changes

- -Dr. Burt Bobb, Chair of Health and Physical Education
- -Dr. Jonatha Jonathovare, Chair of the Center for Pedagogy
- -Dr. Caroline Everington, Associate Dean

## College of Arts and Sciences New Faculty – Introduced by Dean Brown

- -Dr. Henry Buckley, French and Spanish
- -Ms. Iris Coleman, Math
- -Dr. Matthew Fike, English
- -Dr. Roy Jameson, Geology
- -Dr. Peter Judge, Religion
- -Ms. Norma Oliver, English
- -Ms. Meredith Reynolds, English
- -Dr. Arthur Vartanian, Math
- -Mr. Rudy Wiegand, Math
- -Dr. Ted Zainal, Chemistry
- -Ms. Cynthia Stiles, Speech
- -Dr. Janet Hudson, History
- -Dr. Tamara Bush, Math

## College of Library Science New Faculty

-Ms. Claire Clemens, Coordinator of Library Instruction

College of Business Administration New Faculty - Introduced by Dean Weikle

- -Dr. Mary Martin, Marketing
- -Mr. Douglas Johnson, Management
- -Dr. Kelly Hewitt, Marketing
- -Dr. Bill Seyfried, Economics
- -Dr. Kristan Presnell, Computer Science

#### V. **Committee Reports**

### Faculty Personnel Committee - Dr. Jean Silagyi-Rebovich, Chair

A sample ballet was distributed with the meeting's agenda. Elections were conducted for one and two year positions on the Dinkins Advisory Board. The individual receiving the greatest number of votes receives the two-year position and the individual receiving the second highest number of votes receives the one-year position. The candidates are Carlton Bessinger, Marguertie Quintelli-Neary, and Virginia Williams in Arts and Sciences. The fourth candidate is Shelley Hamill in Education. No nominations were made from the floor. Voting will continue until noon on Monday. The ballots will be available at the reference desk in the library.

## General Education Committee - Dr. Ray Dockery

This is the beginning of the fourth year of looking at a new general education program. On September 1, the Academic Council will meet to discuss the two new general education courses. The will be discussed at the Faculty Conference on September 15. Dr. Moore indicated that the courses would be offered during the spring semester if they are approved.

### VI. Old Business

There was not any old business.

2 of 3 10/6/2009 6:03 PM

# VII. New Business

There was not any new business

# VIII. Announcements

There were not any announcements.

# IX. Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:50pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Michele C. Henderson Secretary

3 of 3 10/6/2009 6:03 PM