### Faculty Conference August 21, 1998

#### I. Minutes

Minutes were corrected and approved.

#### II. Opening Remarks - Dr. Tom Moore

The Board of Trustees met June 12, 1998. The meeting marked the conclusion of the four-year terms of Carl Folkens, Tom Robertson, and Sanita Savage Frazier and the introduction of three new members. Elected by Winthrop Alumni to four-year terms were Anne Kay Hall and Mary Jean Ligon. Elected by the SC Legislature, also to a four-year term, was Thomas Crowson. The next meeting will be November 5.

New Executive Officers are: David White, Chair

Mary Ann Lake, Secretary

Skip Tuttle, Vice Chair; Chair of Finance Committee

Bob Thompson, Chair of Academic Affairs

Bob Gahagan, Chair of University Relations

Dr. Moore reported that this August Jerry Gaff led an all-day workshop for 80 Winthrop faculty and administrators.

#### III. Report from the President -- Dr. Anthony Digiorgio

Dr. Digiorgio noted that Winthrop has "attained 100% accreditation of those programs eligible for national accreditation." The president also called for collective contributions from faculty for the upcoming year. He encouraged attendance at opening ceremonies and activities for the following week.

#### IV. Report from Vice President for Academic Affairs -- Dr. Melford Wilson

Dr. Wilson reported that performance-based funding is guided by student ratings of faculty advising and faculty availability to students. He noted further that because funding is based on improvement of these ratings, Winthrop is at a disadvantage because of its current high assessments. He reported that 52% of Winthrop students graduate in a six-year period, better than the state average, but lower than private school rates. Dr. Wilson called for more individual attention to students to raise graduation rates still further. Dr. Wilson said that the Graduate Faculty Assembly would not meet August

21.

He introduced the Deans who introduced new Winthrop faculty:

College of Arts and Sciences: Suchitra Bhardwaj (Biology)

Clifton P. Calloway, Jr. (Chemistry)

Cheryl A. Fortner-Wood (Psychology)

Christine H. Goodner (Human Nutrition)

Susan B. Lyman (Social Work)

Ameda A. Manetta (Social Work)

David Petty (History)

Frank B. Pullano (Mathematics)

Josephine K. Tarvers (English)

Leslie F. Walker (English)

QinYue (English, Visiting Professor)

College of Business Administration:

Qidong Jordan Cao

Michele C. Henderson

Orlando E. Katter, Jr.

Scott R. Lyman

Victor W. Nichol

Nell H. Walker

College of Education: Janet K. Baxter

### Shelley D. Hamill

Stephanie Y. Hawley

David H. Vawter

Debbie E. Yelton

Library: David K. Weeks

College of Visual and Performing Arts:

Deborah S. Hoffman

Robert G. Hutchinson

## V. Committee Reports

Steve Million of the Budget Priorities Committee reported on the efforts to channel savings into academic programs. He encouraged faculty to attend meetings on the first Wednesday of the month to work on increased enrollment in targeted programs.

### VI. New Business

There was no additional new business.

### **VII. Old Business**

There was no additional old business.

## **VIII.** Announcements

Dates and times for Convocation and the welcome back party were repeated.

# IX. Adjournment

