Minutes Winthrop University Graduate Faculty Assembly April 13, 2001

I. Call to order from Prof. Jo Koster Tarvers.

- II. Approval of Minutes from the February 16, 2001, meeting.
- III. Remarks from Professor Koster Tarvers

Professor Koster Tarvers had only two brief remarks to make. This year's minutes of the Graduate Faculty Assembly are now available on a web page; previous years' minutes will eventually be scanned in. In addition, the minutes for Graduate Council, Academic Council, and Faculty Conference can be found at the same location (www.winthrop.edu/acad_aff/Minutes/minutes.html). Thanks for this should go to Rhett Eckhardt in Institutional Research.

She also thanked Dr. Dave Pretty (History) for his services as Secretary and Professor Rob Hutchinson (Music) as Parliamentarian. Since Professor Hutchinson is leaving Winthrop, Dr. Peter Judge (Religious Studies) will be stepping in as Parliamentarian next year.

IV. Remarks from Dr. Melford Wilson, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs.

Dr. Wilson had no remarks beyond those he made earlier at Faculty Conference.

V. Remarks from the Acting Associate Vice President for Graduate Studies, Dr. A. David Franklin.

Dr. Franklin had no remarks.

VI. Remarks from the Chair of the Graduate Council, Alan Huston.

Alan Huston was not present.

- VII. There was no old business.
- VIII. There was no new business.
- IX. There were no announcements.
- X. A motion to adjourn was approved.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Dave Pretty, Secretary