MINUTES GRADUATE FACULTY ASSEMBLY April 19, 2002 Note: These minutes must be approved at the first Graduate Faculty Assembly meeting of the 2002-2003 year.

Dr. Jo Koster called the meeting to order. The minutes from the March 2002, Graduate Faculty Assembly meeting were approved as distributed.

Dr. Koster reminded the faculty of the Graduate Commencement to be held on Tuesday, May 2, at 7 pm in Tillman Auditorium. Faculty members should gather in 308 Tillman at 6:40 pm to robe and process into the auditorium at 6:50. Dr. Koster reminded the faculty that many graduate students and their families were eagerly looking forward to this event and encouraged the faculty to attend.

Dr. Koster took the opportunity of her last meeting as Chair to thank those who had helped her: Dave Pretty, secretary; Rob Hutchison and Peter Judge, parliamentarians; Alan Huston and Bill Rogers, Graduate Council; Dave Franklin, Willie Rembert, and Sharon Johnson in the Graduate Office; Melford Wilson and Joyce Stafford, VPAA Office, and especially all the members of the Graduate faculty. Dr. Koster remarked that for the last two years she had served at the faculty's pleasure, but that the privilege of doing so had been *her* pleasure, for which she thanked her colleagues.

Dr. Melford Wilson, Vice President for Academic Affairs, commented on the health of the Graduate Studies Program at Winthrop. He stated, "We intend for graduate programs to be an integral part of Winthrop University just as they are now. Graduate education is an important part of our mission to our students and to the state." He offered assurances that graduate programs would continue to move forward.

Dr. Wilhelmenia Rembert, Associate Vice President for Graduate Studies, was not present and sent no remarks.

A report from Bill Rogers, Chair of Graduate Council, was read in his absence (as he had taken students to the zoo). Dr. Koster read the report, which summarized curricular actions from the Departments of Mathmatics and Modern Languages, College of Arts & Sciences; the MBA and EMBA programs in the College of Business; the Department of Health and Physical Education in the Richard W. Riley College of Education; and the Department of Art and Design in the College of Visual and Performing Arts. Graduate Council approved the nominations of Mark Hamilton, Mike Lavine, Marge Moody, Andrew Svedlow, and Gregory Tew, all from the College of Visual and Performing Arts, for membership in the Graduate Faculty.

On the advice of the University General Counsel, the request for action on the proposed "Graduate Assistant Performance Requirements Policy" has been annulled and there will be no further action regarding such a statement. Graduate Council has approved a new admissions section for the Graduate Catalog and has distributed, at long last, the proposed changes to "Instructions for Preparations of a Thesis" for review and action at their next meeting. Finally, Graduate Council nominated Dr. Dwight Dimaculangan, Associate Professor of Biology, and Dr. Mark DeWalt, Director of Graduate Studies, College of Education, as candidates to replace Dr. Jo Koster as Chair of the Graduate Faculty Assembly.

Laura DuFresne of Graduate Council conducted the election for Chair of Graduate Studies and announced that voting would remain open until noon on Monday April 22 at Dacus Library reference desk.

There being no old or new business or further announcements, the meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Gloria Jones Acting Secretary