Dear Colleagues,

It is with great pleasure that I share an example of Winthrop success resulting from the "enthusiastic team effort" Acting President Boyd discussed in her "Moving Forward" message. The message below is long, but it has a great punchline.

Friday and Saturday, Winthrop's McNair Scholars presented their research at the 20th Annual SAEOPP National McNair Research Symposium in Atlanta. Sixteen Winthrop Scholars competed against fellow Scholars from universities including, but not limited to, USC, UNC Chapel Hill, U of Florida, UC Berkeley, Morehouse, U of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Xavier of Louisiana, Rider, and Cal State Sacramento. With the expertise and intensive support of his or her mentor(s), each Scholar listed below gave an outstanding presentation and deserves congratulations. Throughout the conference, Graduate Recruiters, conference organizers, McNair staff, and other Scholars shared compliments with me regarding Winthrop's students.

McNair Scholar	Faculty Mentor	Project Title
Leah Brown	Dr. Merry Sleigh	Cross-Cultural Comparison of Time Perspective, Shame and Guilt Proneness, and Regret (Poster)
Amanda Cavin	Dr. Carol Marchel	How Do Teachers Define Teacher Quality? (Education, oral)
lan Deas	Dr. Julian Smith III	The Circadian Fluctuation of Melatonin in Stenostomum virginianum (Life Sciences, oral)
Alex Foster	Dr. Brad Tripp	A Cross-Racial Study of Attitudes Toward and Beliefs About Homosexuality (Poster)
Lauren Green	Dr. Matthew Stern	Brain-penetrating histone deacetylase inhibitor RG2833: A potential malignant melanoma growth suppressor. (Life Sciences, oral)
Emily Hokett	Dr. Sarah Reiland	Cognitive Flexibility as a Dominant Predictor of Depression Symptoms Following Stressful Life Events (Poster)
Brittany Johnson	Dr. Stephanie Milling	Integrating Principles for Choreographic Evaluation into Education: One Proposed Model for Dropout Prevention (Education, oral)
Stanley Kennedy	Dr. Marleah Bouchard	How Different Definitions of Homelessness Affect Available Resources for K-12 Public School Children
Jordyn Kessler	Dr. Janice Chism	Interactions of a Maturing Female Hamadryas Baboon (Life Sciences, oral)
Olivia Manley	Dr. Nick Grossoehme	Cloning of Nickel Uptake Regulator (NUR) Mutants from S. coelicolor (Life Sciences, oral)
Diamond Rose Melendez	Dr. Aaron Hartel	The Reaction of O-Silylated Cyanohydrin Anions with Epoxides as an Alternative for the Enantio- and Diastereoselective Preparation of Aldols (Physical Sciences, oral)
Justin Moore	Dr. Clarence Coleman	Transfer Pricing Equity: An Examination of Reported Revenue versus
	& Mr. Harold Manasa	Expected Revenue (Poster)
Denise Peppers	Dr. Grossoehme	Purification and Characterization of Nickel Uptake Regulator (NUR) and Single NUR Mutants (Physical Sciences, oral)
Kristin Ramirez	Dr. Janet Wojcik	Physical Fitness Components and Posture Screening in Female Competitive Dancers (Poster)
Shalace Rose	Dr. Janet Wojcik	The Health Habits and Physical Activities of Student Truck Drivers (Poster)

		Synthesis and evaluation of symmetric biphenyltetrols as aggregation
Sarah Wicks	Dr. Robin Lammi	inhibitors for Alzheimer's amyloid-beta peptide (Physical Sciences,
		oral)

Faculty judges choose the top presentations in six oral presentation categories and one poster category. Winthrop Scholars placed in all four categories in which they competed. In fact, they won first place in three of the four categories. Our friends at USC excitedly noted that, together, the two SC programs earned 10 awards. Winthrop's award winners listed below will receive a total of \$1,875 in cash prizes.

- Amanda Cavin (Mentor: Dr. Carol Marchel) 1st Place, Education
- Sarah Wicks (Mentor: Dr. Robin Lammi) 2nd Place, Life Science
- Denise Peppers (Mentor: Dr. Nick Grossoehme) 1st Place, Physical Science
- Shalace Rose (Mentor: Dr. Janet Wojcik) 1st Place, Posters
- Diamond Melendez (Mentor: Dr. Aaron Hartel) 3rd Place, Posters

The excellence of all 16 Scholars reflects the hard work and support of many people, most notably the Scholars and their Mentors. Our Stats and Methods Coach (Dr. Matt Hayes) and Writing Coach (Stephanie Bartlett) have also provided regular technical support to the Scholars throughout the summer. The support of Dean Gloria Jones, Hannah Swan (McNair Alumnus and Office Assistant), Barb Yeager (Exec. Support Specialist), and McNair Alumni were also key.

These outcomes also reflect the discernment of the McNair Advisory Board which selects each cohort of Scholars and provides counsel on critical program decisions. Those wise folks are listed below.

- Dr. Adolphus Belk
- Ms. Symone Calhoun (McNair Scholar, recent graduate)
- Dr. Kareema Gray
- Ms. Rose Gray
- Dr. Wenonah Haire (DMD, community member)
- Dr. Willis Lewis
- Dr. Karen Stock
- Dr. Takita Sumter
- Dr. Will Thacker
- Dr. Kim Wilson
- Dr. Brad Witzel
- Dean Gloria Jones (ex-officio)

Thanks go to Dr. Joe Rusinko too because he has served on the Board when needed. The Board also includes the McNair Director.

Please join me in congratulating all of the McNair Scholars and their Faculty Mentors who, this week, are wrapping up a grueling McNair summer research internship. Please consider also thanking our Board Members, Dean Jones, and Dr. Boyd for their support of our program.

-Cheryl