Graduate Council April 28, 2015 208 Thurmond *Minutes*

Graduate Council members present: Melissa Carsten, Chair; Brent Cagle; Marshall Jones; Jennifer Jordan; and Michael Lipscomb.

Melissa Carsten called the meeting to order.

- I. Announcements: None
- II. Minutes from April 3, 2015 meeting were approved on a motion by Michael Lipscomb, which was seconded by Brent Cagle. Final draft is posted to website: http://www.winthrop.edu/uploadedFiles/graduateschool/applicationforms/Administrative/GraduateCouncilMinutesApril32015.pdf
- III. Old business: None.

IV. New business:

- a. Melissa Carsten reminded members that Graduate Council was responsible for hearing incoming petitions over the summer, and this requires even outgoing members to participate in any such hearing until the first meeting of Graduate Council in the fall. All members who were present agreed that they are aware of this responsibility. Melissa Carsten noted that any petition requires a 2/3 majority for approval.
- b. Tom Stanley was nominated to be Chair of Graduate Council for the 2015 -2016 academic year by Brent Cagle. The nomination was seconded by Jennifer Jordan and approved by an unanimous vote. Melissa Carsten will contact him to make sure that he agrees to serve in this position. Note: Tom Stanley denied the nomination and will not serve as Grad Council chair.

V. Petitions:

- a. The petition submitted by Erin Alessi was unanimously approved.
- b. The petition submitted by Elihu Bey was unanimously approved.

VI. Adjournment

Committee Members and	Melissa Carsten (chair)
Contact	carstenm@winthrop.edu
Brent Cagle	Jennifer Jordan
cagleb@winthrop.edu	jordanje@winthrop.edu
Ronnie Faulkner	Marshall Jones

faulknerr@winthrop.edu	jonesmg@winthrop.edu
Michael Lipscomb	Katherine Kinsey
lipscombm@winthrop.edu	kinseyk@winthrop.edu
Kristen Wunderlich	Tom Stanley
wunderlichk@winthrop.edu	stanleyt@winthrop.edu
Rachel Luellen (student rep)	Tia Wheeler (student rep)
<u>Luellenr2@winthrop.edu</u>	Wheelert3@winthrop.edu