July 2022 Staff Assembly Retreat

Friday, July 29, 2022

8 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. | Center for Professional Excellence

Members present: Georgette Bell, Lisa Benjamin, Amanda Cavin, Debbie Garrick, Craig Gero, Amanda

Hackney, Chris Johnson, Tanya Pettus, Katie Price, Dawn Sayer, Julie Schrader, Leah Simmonds,

Michael Szeman, Halle Thompson

Dr. Serna was introduced and made brief welcoming remarks, followed by an overview of the retreat

schedule by Debbie Garrick and Leah Simmonds. Debbie facilitated a group activity that involved

members identifying the best parts about working at Winthrop and the challenges.

At 10 a.m. the retreat moved into a business session with a brief review of the by-laws and officer

elections for vacant seats. Debbie Garrick presented the nominees for vacancies (Secretary, Treasurer, and

Parliamentarian) based on members who had responded to the email call for potential officers and called

for any volunteers from the floor. With no nominations from the floor, a motion was made by Craig Gero

and seconded by Amanda Cavin to elect the following new officers:

Secretary: Halle Thompson

Treasurer: Amanda Hackney

Parliamentarian: Katie Price

(Debbie Garrick, Leah Simmonds, and Chris Johnson were elected earlier in the calendar year to serve the

roles of Chair, Vice-Chair and Historian, respectively.)

Members were then asked to volunteer for committees and let the group know if they were currently

serving as chair of a committee.

Staff Feedback - Tanya Pettus, Julie Schrader, Debbie Garrick (Julie and Tanya are co-chairs), Amanda

Hackney

Media & Communications - Kara Cauthen (chair), Leah Simmonds, Jayme Charles, Kat Wilson, Lee

Clark

Professional Development - Nicole Chisari (chair), Amanda Cavin, Barb Yeager, Suzie Therrell, Brittany

Pigford

Community & Campus Involvement – Chris Johnson and Judy Longshaw (co-chairs), Kelly Scott, De

Wells, Debbie Casperson, Halle Thompson

Staff Recognition – Katie Price & Michael Szeman (co-chairs), Craig Gero, Georgette Bell, Claire Mooney-Melvin, De Wells, Miranda Knight, Johanna Harris

Elections & Nominations – Amanda Stewart, (chair, non-Assembly member); Lisa Benjamin; Dawn Sayer

Fall Planning

Per results from decisions made by Staff Assembly earlier in the year, Staff Conference meetings will be realigned to parallel the Faculty Conference meeting schedule. All meetings will be held in person and will not have a live stream option. PowerPoints and meeting minutes will be available on the Staff Assembly webpage after the meetings for those who were unable to attend.

Fall Staff Conference Meetings:

<u>Date</u>	Time	Location
8/26	2:30 p.m.	Owens G02
10/14	2:30 p.m.	Owens G02
12/2	2:30 p.m.	Owens G02

The Assembly opted to continue monthly meetings per the by-laws. Members agreed to in-person meetings and discussed possible venues. Debbie agreed to check on availability and book the space accordingly. Dates and times were set with location TBD.

Fall Staff Assembly Meetings:

Date	Time	Location
8/12	10 a.m.	TBD
9/9	10 a.m.	TBD
10/14	10 a.m.	TBD
11/11	10 a.m.	TBD
12/9	10 a.m.	TBD